Academy of Osseointegration awards 2017-18 research grants

Share on Facebook

The Academy of Osseointegration awarded Satheesh Elangovan, BDS, and Binnaz Leblebicioglu, DDS, $30,000 research grants at AO's 2017 annual meeting in Orlando, Fla., from March 15 to March 18, 2017.

AO awarded Dr. Elanogvan its first place basic science grant for his project, "A Novel Gene Activated Barrier Membrane that Harnesses the Regenerative Potential of Periosteum."

Dr. Elanogvan said he will use the grant money to explore the "bone regeneration efficacy of a novel bioactive barrier membrane, which has immense clinical translational potential."

AO awarded Dr. Leblebicioglu, DDS, its first place applied science award for her project, "Identification of Host Related Risk Factors for Peri-Implant Tissue Loss."

She said the grant will "allow our team of clinicians and scientists to better understand peri-implant etiopathogenesis specific to dental implants."

More articles on dental:
Drs. Michael Norton, Gary Glassman & more — 4 dentists making headlines
Drs. Joseph Fiorellini, Robert Vogel elected to Academy of Osseointegration's board of directors
Academy of Osseointegration announces research award winners: 6 insights

© Copyright ASC COMMUNICATIONS 2018. Interested in LINKING to or REPRINTING this content? View our policies by clicking here.


New From Becker's Dental Review

Delta Dental, Smile Brands & more: 5 dental companies making headlines

Read Now

Top 40 Articles from the Past 6 Months