Dental assistant hourly wage vs. minimum wage in each state

Dental assistants make roughly between $9 to $17 more than the minimum wage in each state, according to data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Department of Labor.  

 

 

 

Average hourly wage compared to minimum wage for dental assistants in each state:

Alabama

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $17.19

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

Alaska

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $24.35

State minimum hourly wage: $10.34

Arizona

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $20.17

State minimum hourly wage: $12.80

Arkansas

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $16.80

State minimum hourly wage: $11 for companies with four or more employees; $7.25 everywhere else

California

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $22.15

State minimum hourly wage: $14 for small companies; $15 for companies with 26 or more workers

Colorado

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $21.02

State minimum hourly wage: $12.56

Connecticut

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $22.18

State minimum hourly wage: $13

Delaware

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $21.49

State minimum hourly wage: $10.50

Florida

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $19.63

State minimum hourly wage: $10

Georgia

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $19.17

State minimum hourly wage: $5.15 for companies exempt under the Fair Labor Standards Act

Hawaii

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $18.20

State minimum hourly wage: $10.10

Idaho

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $17.43

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

Illinois

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $20.39

State minimum hourly wage: $12 for companies with four or more employees, excluding family members; $7.25 everywhere else

Indiana

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $20.01

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25 

Iowa

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $21.33

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

Kansas

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $18.43

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

Kentucky

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $18.35

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

Louisiana

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $16.14

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

Maine

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $21.14

State minimum hourly wage: $12.75

Maryland

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $21.35

State minimum hourly wage: $12.50

Massachusetts

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $24.62

State minimum hourly wage: $14.25

Michigan

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $19.08

State minimum hourly wage: $9.87

Minnesota

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $25.52

State minimum hourly wage: $8.42 for companies with revenue under $500,000; $10.33 for companies making more

Mississippi

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $17.39

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

Missouri

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $19.25

State minimum hourly wage: $11.15

Montana

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $18.78

State minimum hourly wage: $9.20 for companies with gross sales over $110,000; $4 for business not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act with gross annual sales of $110,000 or less

Nebraska

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $19.68

State minimum hourly wage: $9 for companies with four or more employees; $7.25 everywhere else

Nevada

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $18.28

State minimum hourly wage: $8.75 with health insurance provided; $9.75 without health insurance

New Hampshire

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $23.79

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

New Jersey

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $21.14

State minimum hourly wage: $13; $11.90 for seasonal and small employers with fewer than six employees

New Mexico

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $18.17

State minimum hourly wage: $11.50

New York

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $21.59

State minimum hourly wage: $13.20; $15 (Long Island, Westchester, and NYC)

North Carolina

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $21.31

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

North Dakota

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $22.97

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

Ohio

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $20.89

State minimum hourly wage: $9.30 at companies making more than $342,000; $7.25 everywhere else

Oklahoma

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $18.79

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25 for employers of 10 or more full-time employees at any one location and employers with annual gross sales over $100,000 irrespective of number of full time employees; $2 for all other employers exempt under the Fair Labor Standards Act

Oregon

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $23.45

State minimum hourly wage: $12.75

Pennsylvania

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $20.94

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

Rhode Island

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $22.15

State minimum hourly wage: $12.25

South Carolina

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $19.29

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

South Dakota

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $20.20

State minimum hourly wage: $9.95

Tennessee

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $18.83

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

Texas

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $18.45

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

Utah

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $16.93

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

Vermont

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $21.75

State minimum hourly wage: $12.55 for companies with two or more employees; $7.25 everywhere else

Virginia

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $20.95

State minimum hourly wage: $11 for companies with four or more employees; $7.25 everywhere else

Washington

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $22.29

State minimum hourly wage: $14.49

West Virginia

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $17.71

State minimum hourly wage: $8.75 for companies with six or more employees at one location; $7.25 everywhere else

Wisconsin

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $20.34

State minimum hourly wage: $7.25

Wyoming

Average hourly wage for dental assistants: $19.78

State minimum hourly wage: $5.15 for companies exempt under the Fair Labor Standards Act

Copyright © 2022 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.

Featured Webinars

Featured Whitepapers

Featured Podcast