10 dental care advocates named 2022 Health Equity Heroes by DentaQuest

DentaQuest released its 2022 Health Equity Heroes: Disruptors in Health Systems; the award recognizes the work and advocacy for equity in medical, oral and behavioral health. 

Ten of the 12 people on the list are being recognized for their efforts in the dental field, including dentists, state representatives and oral health advocates, according to a July 13 news release.

In addition to celebrating the work of individuals, DentaQuest, an oral healthcare company, is making a contribution of $5,000 in the name of each hero to a nonprofit of their choice.

Those honored for their contributions to dentistry are:

Alex Barrera, DDS, who created the Houston Equality Dental Network 

Jeannie Bath, DDS, who has volunteered at Good Shepherd Ministries in Oklahoma City 

Dan Burch, DDS, who created a fellowship at the Texas A&M College of Dentistry in Dallas 

Louisiana state Rep. Rhonda Butler, who championed legislation promoting dental care accessHoward Cowen, DDS, who has furthered dental education that specializes in older adults at Iowa City-based University of Iowa College of Dentistry

Dr. Kavitha Das, a dentist who has engaged with community members in New York and New Jersey 

Lorraine LaPorte, an adult mental health and wellness advocate

Lilia Larin, DDS, who has helped more Spanish-speaking patients receive dental care in the San Diego area 

Mary Martin, DDS, who co-founded the Smiles for Success Foundation 

Mira Yang, a dental hygienist who works with Early Smiles Sacramento in California


Read about their contributions here.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.