8 states passing dental insurance reform laws in 2022

Eight states have passed laws regarding dental provider network leasing, virtual credit cards and noncovered services in 2022.

Nearly 100 dental insurance reform laws have been enacted in 31 states since 2019, according to an Aug. 25 news release from the American Dental Association.

Here are dental insurance reform laws from eight states that have been passed this year, according to the ADA:

  • Kansas and Kentucky enacted laws that will limit insurance networks' leasing capabilities.
  • South Dakota, Kentucky and Kansas have passed laws prohibiting dental benefit plans from limiting the method of claims payment solely to virtual credit cards.
  • Indiana and Kentucky enacted laws barring dental plans from requiring dentists to discount their fees for services that are not covered.
  • Maine passed a medical loss ratio reporting requirement.
  • Kentucky passed a law that prevents insurers from denying payment on dental services they authorized.
  • Missouri amended an existing law, adding dental to the state's Direct Primary Care Agreement Law, which allows for dentists to establish in-office plans with patients. The state also passed a law to ensure prepaid dental plans are subject to Missouri's credentialing improvement laws and assignment of benefit laws.
  • Arizona added third-party administrators to state law requiring insurers to allow patients to assign payment to their nonparticipating dentists.
  • Illinois enacted a law requiring insurers providing coverage for congenital defects to include coverage for medically necessary care and treatment of cleft lip and palate for those younger than 19.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.