Interstate dental compact activated after Maine joins as 7th state

Maine Gov. Janet Mills signed Legislative Document 2137 into law, which allows the state to join the dentist and dental hygienist interstate compact.

The interstate compact increases license portability across member states for dentists and hygienists, removing the need for dental professionals to gain a license in each individual state, according to an April 23 news release from the American Dental Association. 

With Maine joining as state No. 7 the compact is now active, and a commission with a representative from each of the seven states will create the application process and have the responsibility of vetting applications. 

Applicants for license portability must undergo an FBI background check, have their eligibility verified, and complete jurisprudence requirements before receiving a privilege. Dentists using the compact need to have an active, unencumbered license and must have graduated from a program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation.

Partner states in the compact expect to issue the first portability privileges in approximately one year. 

The other six states that have activated legislation are Iowa, Washington, Tennessee, Wisconsin, Virginia and Kansas. Legislation to join is pending in Minnesota, Colorado, Missouri, Ohio, Pennsylvania and New Jersey, the release said.

Copyright © 2024 Becker's Healthcare. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Cookie Policy. Linking and Reprinting Policy.